My Bad Book Habits

other, Rambles

my bad book habitsHey everyone, today I thought I’d do a more fun topical post, as my blog has been stocked up with so many reviews recently. I wanted to do this post as I am aware that so many people are very possessive about their book collection, although I am a real collector and love buying new books, I am actually not that precious about them. I have so many bad habits when it comes to reading that would make some people’s skin crawl. Let’s jump in and please let me know what your absolute worst bad book habit is below!

Folding the pages

I’m sure some people out there will wonder why I don’t use a bookmark. It isn’t because I don’t own any, it’s that I’m lazy. This year I have gotten better at that however, I often find that I will get halfway through and then get rid of the bookmark in favour of a good old page fold. I don’t know why, this is definitely because of habit and I love seeing all the little folds after I’ve read the books.

Breaking spines

This one is a bug bear for many people. But I can’t help it, I’ll get halfway through a book and then it gets difficult to read so I just do a nice CRACK and it’s all perfect again. I get the same satisfaction as when I crack my own spine. This one doesn’t even bother me at all, and I kind of enjoy the way it looks after I’ve done it, it also means I can take better pictures of the pages. This will be one I do shamelessly for the rest of my life I’m afraid.

Coffee rings

I seriously do not have enough room for my books, so my current read will always sit on my bedside table or on the floor by my bed. This does mean it sometimes gets turned into a coaster. I promise I only do this with the books I’m not as precious over, you won’t catch me doing this to a pretty cover or a special edition hardback.

Not owning a book cover

You know those cute little patterned covers my fellow bookworms buy to protect their books when they are putting them in bags. Yeah…I’ve been meaning to purchase one for months now, but just keep forgetting. This means I put my books in my handbag every single day, for it then to get battered and marked. Good job I like the worn look.

Forgetting to remove post it notes

I don’t post it note many of my books, but all of my university books have still got like 15 post it notes on them to flag the pages I needed to refer back to. I’ll probably never get round to removing them so when it comes to rereading I’ll have to put up with it.

Using receipts as bookmarks

This goes way back to my refusing to use bookmarks, I don’t know what it is but I don’t gravitate toward them. On the off chance I don’t fancy folding the pages or I’m reading a library book, I will opt for the receipt of the book instead.

 

Please share with me your worst book habits, whether that is reading habits, book buying, or not looking after them!

Molly ๐Ÿ’—๐Ÿ“š

 

6 thoughts on “My Bad Book Habits

  1. I use receipts too!lol…Lately though I’ve been using the slip that comes when we pick up a book from the Library and it’s got all the information on it, ie the due date. That sort of thing. I must have about 20 book marks though,lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment